John Deere Trail

Expiration: Jun 30th 2025

Welcome to the John Deere Trail! You're about to embark on the roots of a globally-impactful corporation, in the place it calls home - the Quad Cities. Explorers on this trail will be entered to win a $100 gift card to the John Deere store (check-in to at least 6 locations to be eligible). The perfect place to spoil the John Deere aficionado in your life. The drawing will be held June 30, 2025.
Continue your journey digitally, and learn about "The John Deere" effect in the Quad Cities here.


Included Venues

See locations on an interactive map.

Atkinson-Peek House and Rock Island County Historical Society
Hours are Wednesday through Saturday, 9 a.m. - 4p.m. Research library and tours available; please call ahead (309) 764–8590 This house was built in 1877-78 by Edmund Atkinson, who worked in the shipping department at John Deere. Burton Peek purchased the home in 1902. Peek was John Deere’s first general counsel, interim CEO during World War II, and long-time chairman of the board. Pattie Wiman purchased the house in 1962 and gifted it to the Rock Island County Historical Society.
Show more
Butterworth Center
Free 90-minute tours are available upon reservation. Schedule weekday tours here
Schedule Sunday tours here
*One registration gets you a tour of both the Butterworth Center AND Deere-Wiman Home. No need to register for each separately.

This home was a wedding present from Charles and Mary Deere to their daughter, Katherine, and her husband William Butterworth. Butterworth was the third CEO of Deere & Company (1907-1928). Built in 1892, the Butterworth’s named the home Hillcrest, tripling its size over time, including a library addition in 1917 that features an 18th century Italian ceiling painting. Today, the Butterworth Center & Deere-Wiman House are operated by the William Butterworth Foundation. They serve as year-round sites for quality educational and cultural events, meeting space for nonprofit organizations, and offer tours of local, national, and international visitors. Visitors are welcome to explore the gardens. Find more of the family’s history here
Note: No elevator access for wheelchairs
Show more
Caxton Block
Exterior exploration only.
Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
This building known as the Caxton Block was built by Deere & Company in 1908, and leased to Desaulniers & Co., a printing company that printed advertising and publications for Deere and other customers.
Show more
Deere Family Gravesites - Riverside Cemetery
Upon entry, take a left at Montevideo Drive and find both the Velie and Deere family monuments overlooking the Mississippi River.
Riverside Cemetery is rich in Deere family history. The cemetery was designed by architect William LeBaron Jenney. Not only did he design the home of Charles and Mary Deere (see Deere-Wiman House) - but he is also best known for building the world's first skyscraper in Chicago in 1884. Riverside Cemetery was first constructed during John Deere's term as Mayor of Moline.
Show more
Deere-Wiman House
Free 90-minute tours are available upon reservation. Schedule weekday tours here
Schedule Sunday tours here
*One registration gets you a tour of both the Butterworth Center AND Deere-Wiman Home. No need to register for each separately.
Originally known as Overlook, the Deere-Wiman House was home to three generations of the Deere family from 1872-1976. The original home was designed by Chicago architect William LeBaron Jenny. A fire in 1899 caused remodeling of the top floor. Interior features include a pipe-organ and an elevator. Deere & Company’s second CEO, Charles Deere, and fourth CEO, Charles Deere Wiman, lived in this home.
Today, the Butterworth Center & Deere-Wiman House are operated by the William Butterworth Foundation. They serve as year-round sites for quality educational and cultural events, meeting space for nonprofit organizations, and offer tours of local, national, and international visitors. Find more of the family’s history here
Show more
Historic Post Office and Former John Deere Home
Exterior exploration only.

Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.

This building, currently known as the Willis Building, was constructed in 1910. It's a Beaux-Arts style building that served as the Moline Post Office, an Illinois National Guard Armory, offices for Montgomery Elevator Co., and most recently Willis Co. Prior to that, the site was the home of John Deere.
Show more
John Deere Harvester Works
The John Deere Harvester Works was first built in 1912, and today is one of the largest combine manufacturing facilities in the world. Stop into the Visitor’s Center to learn more about the history of harvesting equipment and how combines are built today. While you’re there, be sure to sit inside one of the newest John Deere combines. Harvester works is one of four factories operating in the Quad Cities. Notice the famous Leaping Deer statue on your way in, great for a photo opportunity!
Show more
John Deere Pavilion
Parking Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
Enjoy free entry and explore between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday or between 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. on Monday.
Discover innovative products and learn about John Deere history through interactive exhibits and equipment displays that trace the evolution of the company and its impact around the world. From John Deere the man to the latest in tractor and combine technology, you can even sit inside some of the largest, and smallest, Deere machines.
The John Deere Pavilion and John Deere store are connected through an outdoor walkway.
Show more
John Deere Store
Parking Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
Open between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday or between 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. on Monday.
The John Deere Store is your one-stop shop for all things John Deere, including the latest clothes, hats, gadgets, toys, and precision equipment replicas. There is something for everyone. The Store is located on the John Deere Commons, right next to the John Deere Pavilion.
The John Deere Pavilion and John Deere store are connected through an outdoor walkway.
Show more
Leaping Deere Statue at TPC Deere Run
Exhibited on the grounds of more than a dozen John Deere locations, this leaping deer statue was one of many purchased between 1893 and 1896 for display on the rooftops of John Deere buildings across the United States. Statues were created by pressing sheet copper into cast-iron molds. Each section was then soldered or riveted together and braced internally with an iron or copper skeleton. Originally, the statues were either gilded or left unsealed to allow a natural copper patina to develop. The Statue of Liberty is an example of this process. Today, the statues have been refurbished and painted.

TPC Deere Run is a public golf course and is the site of the PGA TOUR's John Deere Classic.

Plan ahead to play a round of golf on the course. Book a tee time here

Between March and November, enjoy a meal at The Greenside Grille. Check hours seasonally

Check out Deere Run's Golf Shop, named one of the Top 100 Golf Shops in North America. Check hours seasonally.
Show more
Market Square
Parking Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
Now the site of Visit Quad Cities and other businesses, John and Lucenia Lamb Deere deeded this property to the City of Moline in 1886, including a provision that it continued to be used “for a public market place.” This was indeed the use of the property until the 1980s, when it was rezoned for future use.
Feel free to come into the destination center to learn about the QC community and how to explore more of John Deere’s footprint on the region.
Show more
Nels Peterson Park
Did you know that John Deere owned a farm in Moline? Deere acquired property on the current site of Peterson Park in the 1860s. Here, the Deere family raised cattle. John Deere Cady, John Deere's grandson, grew up in a farmhouse on the property. Cady was an avid golfer and went on to win a silver medal in the sport at the 1904 Summer Olympics. Park amenities include picnic shelter (ADA, must reserve), play equipment, restrooms, and scenic view.
Show more
Red Cliff and John Deere Home
Please park safely on the street and explore from sidewalks only. This site, known as Red Cliff, was the home of John Deere. Next door was his nephew William Ball. This home on the bluff was purchased in 1875 from the Moline Water Power Company for $695. John Deere and his wife, Lucenia, moved into the home in 1880 after the completion of renovations.
Show more
Spirit of Place
Parking Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
John Deere moved to Moline in 1848, building his first plow factory along the Mississippi River. By 1849, he had doubled production to more than 2,000 plows. The Plow Works continued here into the 1980s. John Deere Headquarters was also located here until 1964 when it moved to the southeast end of Moline. In 1981, a six-ton sculpture was installed to mark this location. Designed by Beverly Pepper, Spirit of Place was part of a series of iron sculptures designed and cast by Pepper during a residence at the John Deere Foundry.
Located along the Great River Trail, between Vibrant Arena and the Wyndham Moline.
Show more
Sylvan Island Gateway Park
“Forging A Dream” located along the Great River Trail is a bronze sculpture created by artist David Zahn to commemorate the 175th anniversary of Deere & Company in 2012. It features a portrait of John Deere, a scene in his blacksmith shop, a horsedrawn plow, and John Deere tractor working the land. A special nod is made to the Mississippi River as well.
Across the slough, Sylvan Island features more than a mile of trails perfect for walking and trail bikes.
Show more
Velie Park Walking Path
Easiest access point is from 11th Avenue – street parking available.
Velie Park was created in 1930 with funding from the Velie estate. The site was once the location of the home of Stephen and Emma Deere Velie (the daughter of John and Demarius Deere). The Italianate home was built in 1875 but burned down in 1911. Be sure to check out the memorial to the Spanish American War at the park's entrance.
Park amenities include memorial, scenic view, and benches.
Show more
Washington Square Apartments
Exterior exploration only.
Parking Suggestion: Park at 1632 River Drive (public parking lot at 17th Street and River Drive), and explore the following locations as a pedestrian: Caxton Block, Market Square, Washington Square Apartments, Historic Post Office and former John Deere home, John Deere Pavilion, John Deere Store, and Spirit of Place.
To accommodate a growing company, Charles Deere, John Deere's son and the second president of Deere & Company, built this row house in 1890. The architect was his son-in-law, Merton Yale Cady. For many years, it was known as Deere Row, housing company employees.
Show more
Wiman/Miss Pattie's Park
Wiman/Miss Patties Park in Moline is named after Pattie Southall Wiman. She met John Deere’s great-grandson, Charles Deere Wiman, on a return trip from Europe. The two were married in 1920. In 1976, Wiman donated her home, now called the Deere-Wiman House, to the Butterworth Foundation.

Park amenities include a playground, restrooms, drinking fountain and benches.
Show more